1h 34m | Directed by Jeremiah Zagar | USA | Drama

SHOWTIMES

Click showtimes to purchase tickets

Week 2

Fri, Oct 05, 2018
7:30 | 9:30 p.m.

Sat, Oct 06
7:30 | 9:30

Sun, Oct 07
4:30 | 7:30

Mon, Oct 08
7:30 | 9:30

Tues, Oct 09
7:30 | 9:30

Weds, Oct 10
7:30 | 9:30

Thurs, Oct 11
7:30 | 9:30

Week 1

Friday, Sept. 28, 2018
No Screenings

Saturday, Sept. 29
No Screenings

Sunday, Sept. 30
5:30 | 7:45 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 01
7:30 | 9:30

Tuesday, Oct. 02
7:30 | 9:30

Wednesday, Oct. 03
7:30 | 9:30

Thursday, Oct. 04
7:30 | 9:30

Rated R

Us three. Us brothers. Us kings, inseparable. Three boys tear through their childhood, in the midst of their young parents’ volatile love that makes and unmakes the family many times over. While Manny and Joel grow into versions of their loving and unpredictable father, Ma seeks to shelter her youngest, Jonah, in the cocoon of home. More sensitive and conscious than his older siblings, Jonah increasingly embraces an imagined world all his own.

With a screenplay by Dan Kitrosser and Jeremiah Zagar based on the celebrated Justin Torres novel, We the Animals is a visceral coming-of-age story propelled by layered performances from its astounding cast – including three talented, young first-time actors – and stunning animated sequences which bring Jonah’s torn inner world to life. Drawing from his documentary background, director Jeremiah Zagar creates an immersive portrait of working class family life and brotherhood. (c) The Orchard

Zagar builds a world that is simultaneously deeply authentic and dreamlike — the perfect combination to express a child’s deeply felt but inherently distorted view of the universe he inhabits.
Ann Hornaday | Washington Post | Full review

Zagar has smartly decided to tell this very subjective story of childhood with an Expressionist visual style that favors saturated colors, and he often leans on an unusually potent sound design that leads us seamlessly from one memory to the next.
Dan Callahan | The Wrap | Full review

On one level…We the Animals is a classic coming-of age tale; on another, it’s a near-perfect depiction of the emotional damage that can result from economic insecurity.
Jeannette Catsoulis | New York Times | Full review

We the Animals is a tiny film but mesmerizing in its own loose, dreamy way; it’s also a distinctive take on the discovery of queer identity.
David Rooney | The Hollywood Reporter | Full review