Running time 2h | Directed by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders | USA | Documentary

SHOWTIMES

Click on showtimes for tickets

Week 3

Friday, September 06
6:30 | 9:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 07
6:30 | 9:00

Sunday, September 08
4:00 | 6:30

Monday, September 09
6:30 | 9:00

Tuesday, September 10
6:30 | 9:00

Wednesday, September 11
6:30 | 9:00

Thursday, September 12
6:30 | 9:00

Week 2

Friday, August 30
5:30 | 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 31
No Screenings

Sunday, September 01
No Screenings

Monday, September 02
No Screenings

Tuesday, September 03
5:30 | 8:00

Wednesday, September 04
5:30 | 8:00

Thursday, September 05
5:30 | 8:00

Week 1

Friday, August 23
4:00 | 9:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 24
7:00 | 9:30

Sunday, August 25
4:30 | 7:00

Monday, August 26
7:00 | 9:30

Tuesday, August 27
7:00 | 9:30

Wednesday, August 28
7:00 | 9:30

Thursday, August 29
7:00 | 9:30

PG-13

Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am offers an artful and intimate meditation on the life and works of the legendary storyteller and Nobel prize-winner. From her childhood in the steel town of Lorain, Ohio to ‘70s-era book tours with Muhammad Ali, from the front lines with Angela Davis to her own riverfront writing room, Morrison leads an assembly of her peers, critics and colleagues on an exploration of race, America, history and the human condition as seen through the prism of her own literature. Inspired to write because no one took a “little black girl” seriously, Morrison reflects on her lifelong deconstruction of the master narrative. Woven together with a rich collection of art, history, literature and personality, the film includes discussions about her many critically acclaimed works, including novels The Bluest Eye, Sula, and Song of Solomon, her role as an editor of iconic African-American literature and her time teaching at Princeton University.

In addition to Ms. Morrison, the film features interviews with Hilton Als, Angela Davis, Fran Lebowitz, Walter Mosley, Sonia Sanchez, and Oprah Winfrey, who turned Morrison’s novel Beloved into a feature film. Using Timothy Greenfield-Sanders’ elegant portrait-style interviews, Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am includes original music by Kathryn Bostic, a specially created opening sequence by artist Mickalene Thomas, and evocative works by other contemporary African-American artists including Kara Walker, Rashid Johnson and Kerry James Marshall. (c) Magnolia Pictures

A portrait of a writer who has always dared to reflect the world as she sees it: as ugly as it is beautiful, where black characters have the agency to be as bold, hurtful, and triumphant as everyone else.
Candice Frederick | The Wrap | Full review

The Pieces I Am offers something else, as a dividend yielded by her achievements and her years on the earth: the profound pleasure of her company.
A. O. Scott | New York Times | Full review