Running time 1h 55m | Directed by Stanley Nelson | USA | Documentary, music

SHOWTIMES

Click showtime to purchase tickets

Week 2

Friday, November 08
4:15 p.m.

Saturday, November 09
4:15

Sunday, November 10
4:15

Monday, November 11
6:30

Tuesday, November 12
6:30

Wednesday, November 13
4:15

Thursday, November 14
4:15

Week 1

Friday, November 01
6:30 | 8:45 p.m.

Saturday, November 02
4:15 | 6:30 | 8:45

Sunday, November 03
4:15 | 6:30

Monday, November 04
6:30 | 8:45

Tuesday, November 05
6:30 | 8:45

Wednesday, November 06
6:30 | 8:45

Thursday, November 07
6:30 | 8:45

 

Not rated

Miles Davis: Horn player, bandleader, innovator.  Elegant, intellectual, vain. Callous, conflicted, controversial. Magnificent, mercurial. Genius. The very embodiment of cool. The man with a sound so beautiful it could break your heart.

The central theme of Miles Davis’s life was his restless determination to break boundaries and live life on his own terms. It made him a star—it also made him incredibly difficult to live with, for the people who loved him most.  Again and again, in music and in life, Miles broke with convention—and when he thought his work came to represent a new convention, he changed it again. Miles’s bold disregard for tradition, his clarity of vision, his relentless drive, and constant thirst for new experiences made him an inspiring collaborator to fellow musicians and a cultural icon to generations of listeners. It made him an innovator in music—from bebop to “cool jazz,” modern quintets, orchestral music, jazz fusion, rock ‘n’ roll, and even hip-hop.

Featuring never-before-seen archival footage, studio outtakes, and rare photos, Miles Davis: Birth of the Cool tells the story of a truly singular talent and unpacks the man behind the horn.
(c) Abramorama

Davis mavens will hear familiar stuff. But more than a few moments here are new, and real grabbers.
Glenn Kenny | New York Times | Full review

If you’re a Miles Davis fanatic from way back and think you already know everything about him, the movie, with its sharply edited interviews and stunning archival reach, fills in nuances of the man that feel fresh and new.
Owen Gleiberman | Variety | Full review

The film is kind of brilliant in the way it covers and contextualizes more than 50 years of groundbreaking music in barely two hours.
Peter Howell | Toronto Star | Full review