Running time 1h 29min | Directed by Alan Elliot, Sydney Pollack | USA | Documentary, music

SHOWTIMES

Click on the showtime for tickets

Week 2

Friday, May 03, 2019
7:15 | 9:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 04
7:15 | 9:00

Sunday, May 05
5:00 | 7:15

Monday, May 06
7:15 | 9:00

Tuesday, May 07
7:15 | 9:00

Wednesday, May 08
7:15 | 9:00

Thursday, May 09
7:15 | 9:00

Week 1

Friday, April 26, 2019
7:00 | 9:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 27
5:00 | 7:00 | 9:00

Sunday, April 28
5:00 | 7:00

Monday, April 29
5:30 | 9:30

Tuesday, April 30
7:00 | 9:00

Wednesday, May 01
5:00 | 9:00

Thursday, May 02
7:00 | 9:00

Rated G

The never-before-seen movie featuring Aretha Franklin recording the most successful gospel album of all time, “Amazing Grace.”

By 1971, Aretha Franklin was known as the Queen of Soul. In the culmination of five years of chart-topping hits, she and her producer, Jerry Wexler of Atlantic Records, decided her next recording would take her back to the music of her youth, to the world of American Gospel music.

[The album] “Amazing Grace” was not intended as a swan song, but it would turn out to be an elegiac moment in American musical history as well as a salute to the gospel heritage that had transformed American music in the 1960s.

[The film] Amazing Grace is crafted from never before seen footage originally captured in 1972. (c) NEON

Official Selection:

  • DOC NYC
  • AFI Fest
  • True/False Film Festival
  • SXSW
  • Pan African Film Festival
  • Miami International Film Festival
  • Gasparilla Film Festival
  • Martha’s Vineyard Film Festival
  • Ebertfest

Moore digs in and finds the intricacies in her character. She’s not showy, but she turns in an honest, understated performance that all comes together in a joyous, melancholy, liberating dance set to Laura Branigan’s “Gloria.” .
Adam Graham | Detroit News | Grade A- | Full review

Extraordinary in its ordinariness, it’s an empathetic portrait of a life that women around the world are living every day but rarely get to see on screen.
Katie Rife | The A.V. Club | Rating 4.5/5.0 | Full review

Gloria Bell proves that the best stories can be told endlessly, so long as they’re told well.
Eric Kohn | IndieWire | Rating 5.0/5.0 | Full review

Moore — vulnerable but undauntable — lives every moment in her skin, fantastic to the last glorious frame.
Leah Greenblatt | Entertainment Weekly | Grade A- | Full review